Wilderness Tales Pre-order, Feb 17 Release

Deer Head sculpture and photography by Trevor Richards

The Long Hunt’s debut album Wilderness Tales is currently in pre-order status on our Bandcamp page, with a release date of February 17, 2017 on Bandcamp, iTunes, Amazon, and elsewhere. The songs “Gate of the Night” and “Valley of the Sun” are available now for streaming and purchase, exclusively on Bandcamp. The full track list will be as follows:

  1. Gate of the Night
  2. Valley of the Sun
  3. The Sparrow
  4. The Bitter Dawn
  5. Bleached White Bones

Strictly instrumental, the songs are typically slower, sprawling, meditative, and sparse- a mood sometimes contrasted with the occasional outburst, dense arrangement, or driving repetition. The music sits comfortably in the experimental and alternative rock categories while occasionally incorporating elements of desert, drone and post rock reminiscent of bands like Earth, Grails, and OM.

Drums and bass were tracked earlier this year in October by J Vega at The Wilderness Recording Studio in Zelienople, Pennsylvania. The Wilderness has an amazing live room, coupled with J’s excellent ears and attention to detail, both of which really helped set the tone to build the rest of the album on. Guitar and additional instruments were recorded by The Long Hunt guitarist Trevor Richards, who also did all the mixing and production. The mastering stage was lovingly tended to by KRAMER at Noise Miami, who has an impressive list of past recordings and projects under his belt, serving as musician, engineer, producer and a myriad of other creative roles.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s